Blue Glitter Snowflake Ornaments

December is officially here! Of course for me that means that I’d better have chosen what ornaments I’m making this year and have gotten started, because there is a lot of trial, error, and swearing ahead of me.

BSS-5

These blue snowflake ornaments went through two or three styles of design before I finally isolated what I wanted. First, I tried putting white snow-colored glitter inside the ball, then covering it with the letter and snowflake stickers, then mod podging the blue glitter on the outside. The intent was to then peel the stickers off and have clear spaces for the letters and snowflakes where the white glitter would show through. Several issues arose from this method:

1) Once I’d sprayed the sealant to keep the blue glitter on while I peeled off the stickers, everything was on there pretty permanently.
2) The mod podge didn’t get into every nook and cranny around the stickers like I’d hoped, so the designs were much less precise than I’d wanted.
3) The white glitter did not show through very well, so even though I did get some stickers off in a snowflake shape, it was nothing to write home about.

I even tried swapping the colors hoping the blue would show through better, but that was also a disaster because the white glitter absolutely did not want to cover that ornament evenly, so it looked all a mess.

However, while I was sticking the snowflakes to the second attempt ornament (with the blue glitter inside) I realized that the colors went very well together and it was rather pretty just how it was. I headed back to the craft store for more snowflake stickers right away!

While picking up the extra stickers, I also thought about how I’d decorate the top of the ornament. Nearly every glass ball ornament I’ve made has had a bow around this part, but I could not find a ribbon that complimented this design. I thought it was much too glitzy for a ribbon, so I kind of ran with that and picked up some adhesive rhinestones assuming I’d figure it all out later.

Ultimately, I ended up sticking them around the top as well as in bare spaces around the ornament, and I’m rather pleased with the final result!

Ok, here’s the important part:

What you’ll need:

Clear glass ornaments (size of your choosing)
Pledge Floor Cleaner with Future Shine (they make several kinds, I have one with a blue cap for tile and vinyl floors)
Blue Glitter
Snowflake Stickers
Alphabet Stickers
Adhesive Rhinestones
Fancy Ornament Hooks (I got mine at Michaels around Christmas)
Coordinating beads to decorate hook (optional)

Step 1:

BSS-1Squeeze a little of the Pledge into the ornament and swirl it around gently. You don’t want to shake it, because that will make bubbles and those complicate everything. Pour any excess back out into the bottle.

Step 2:

BSS-2BSS-3Pour a little glitter inside and shake it all around to coat it thoroughly. Wow, it’s so pretty!

Step 3:

BSS-3bStick your letter stickers on to spell your word in the center, then stick snowflakes just all over the place around it. Finish the empty spaces off with some pretty rhinestones so it’s covered in shiny things. Finalize the top with some rhinestones, too. You know, that silver cap with the prongs. Make it pretty.

Step 4:

BSS-4I wanted my ornament hooks to be just a little more special, so I used some needlenose pliers to straighten it out, added some pretty beads, then curled it again so it will hang properly. I thought this was a nice trade in this year for the typical bow.

BSS-6Just look how pretty!

3 thoughts on “Blue Glitter Snowflake Ornaments

  1. First I thought that the ornament that reads “Joy” actually said “Spy”. Then I thought it said “Soy”. I’m kind of upset that it didn’t say either of those things.

    Still, oooo, sparkly.

Leave a comment